Patek Philippe - Nautilus Ref 5726 1A 014 002

Baselworld 2019: The most important Patek Philippe Novelties

According to company documents, Thierry Stern, Patek Philippe president still today tests all minute repeaters himself before they leave the manufacture. And to Stern, it’s not work but pure passion and pleasure. Patek Philippe has gained a special reputation in this field, not least by showing their savoir-faire with the ‘Grandmaster Chime’ from 2014 with its five chiming mechanisms.

Alarm Travel Time Ref. 5520P-001

This year, the manufacture expands its pilot watch ‘Calatrava Travel Time’ with an alarm function that is based on a minute repeater. They developed an entirely new movement, the highly complex calibre AL 30-660 SC FUS made of 574 components. The typical two timezone-display remains unchanged and is still displayed by two superimposed hour hands from the dial’s centre. Two small round apertures at 3 and 9 o’clock indicate the day / night display. To be able to offer a movement height of just 6.6 mm, the engineers have designed an entirely new integrated movement instead of simply putting an additional module on top. Due to a sophisticated timezone-mechanism, the power reserve is not affected while the pusher’s function is being operated. The alarm is indicated by a digital display below 12 o’clock. For that, the brand’s logo had to be replaced inside the date subdial at 6 o’clock. The alarm signal is struck by a hammer on a classic gong – the tiny play can also be watched through the open case back. So, for Thierry Stern, it is not just music for his ears, but also a pleasure for his eyes. Price: 204.050 Euros and comes with a case in platinum.

Chronograph Ref. 5172G-001 in white gold

The price for reference 5170 might shoot up in the next couple of days. The reason: Patek Philippe will discontinue this popular Chronograph and replace it with the new reference 5172G. It houses the same movement but has been modified on the outside. And they seem to hold on to old values, however at the same time reach out to modern-sporty design features. The case – in white gold for the first time – has subtle vintage allure underscored by a sapphire-crystal ‘box’ glass and three-tier lugs. The protruding, round pushers, however, are the epitome of ultra-sporty Chronographs, but then again have a classic guilloche on the push side. The navy-blue dial and navy-blue calfskin leather strap have a fresh and modern touch. The contrasting syringe hands, however, make the watch look somehow old-fashioned. Inside runs the reliable column-wheel chronograph calibre CH29-535 PS, hand-wound with small second and a Gyromax balance. Price: 66.320 Euros and a little bit less expensive to its predecessor.

Nautilus Ref. 5726/1A-014 in stainless steel

The watch that according to a commercial slogan ‘can be equally worn to a wet suit as well as to a dinner jacket’ gets its original colour from 1976. At least the reference 5726/1A with Annual Calendar and Moon-phase. We are talking about the Nautilus in stainless steel with its distinctive blue dial grading from blue to black at the dial’s periphery. Just as beautiful to watch is the horizontal embossing on the dial. The date window has been positioned at 6 o’clock instead of 3 o’clock, sharing the space with the moon-phase display. It has aesthetical reasons for Patek Philippe showing the perfect symmetry in this order (also seen at the Annual Calendar Ref. 5396G). The calibre 324 S QA LU 24H/303 is based on its predecessor model 5711/1A and extended by an Annual Calendar and Moon-phase. The rotor is made of 21-carat gold – and since Patek decided to open up its case back, you get a beautiful view onto the manual finissage of movement parts with Patek Philippe Seal. The new Nautilus 5726/1A-014 is slightly bigger with a 40,5 mm case – the bracelet size was adjusted accordingly. Price: 41.320 Euros.

Calatrava Weekly Calendar Ref. 5212A-001 in stainless steel

Patek Philippe, also well known for their calendar functions, surprises this year with a new calendar feature. The new reference 5212A-001 has a useful weekly calendar with five hands emanating from the centre, indicating the different functions: seconds, minutes, hours, weekday and month. The hand indicating the month display also shows the week number by authentically reproduced handwritten characters printed onto the dial. The 53-graduation scale even considers years with an extra week, which occur every 5 to 6 years. The date is placed at 3 o’clock. To display the day of the week and the number of the current week, the manufacture developed a totally new semi-integrated mechanism, betted into a heavy stainless steel case. It is the first non-limited stainless steel version by Patek Philippe, and the first Calatrava steel watch ever. The new automatic movement 26-330 SCJ SE is based on the calibre 324 and was optimized all round. Price: 30.100 Euros.

Regulator Annual Calendar Ref. 5235/50R-001

Once again, back to Thierry Stern. When he had the idea for the brands very first regulator, he had a modern interpretation of the traditional regulator in mind. But no one in his team wanted it that way. He fought for it and finally in 2011 the Reference 5235 Annual Calendar Regulator was born, Maison’s first version in white gold with a silver-grey dial. This year, Thierry Stern and Patek Philippe present a roségold version ref. 5235/50R with a two-tone dial in graphite and ebony-black. The dial still has a beautiful vertical satin finish. The calibre 31-260 REG QA with self-winding mechanical movement was specially designed for this new model, incorporating a Pulsomat escapement and Spiromax balance spring in Silinvar – let’s say, a pretty modern Regulator. Price: 46.630 Euros.

Aquanaut Ref. 5168G-010 in Khaki

On land and at sea. In 2017, Patek Philippe presented a striking blue version of its Aquanaut 5168G on occasion of its 20th anniversary. It is now joined by a khaki-green version for stylish shore leave. The anniversary version was upgraded by a white gold case, as well its sibling-watch ref. 5168G-010. Other than the very similar Aquanaut ref. 5167, the 5168G (G stands for white gold) in blue and khaki is a ‘jumbo’ watch and measures 42.2 mm in case diameter at a comfortable height of 8.25 mm. The self-winding mechanical movement remains the familiar calibre 324 SC. Price: 35.710 Euros.

Gallery

Patek Philippe - Nautilus Ref 5726 1A 014 002

Baselworld 2019: Die wichtigsten Neuheiten von Patek Philippe

Glaubt man einem Unternehmensdokument, so testet Thierry Stern, der langjährige Präsident von Patek Philippe noch heute eigenständig jede Minutenrepetition, bevor sie die Manufaktur verlässt. Für Stern bedeutet das nach eigener Aussage nicht Arbeit, sondern pure Leidenschaft und Freude. Auf diesem Gebiet hat sich Patek Philippe auch eine besondere Reputation aufgebaut, und nicht zuletzt ihr Savoir-Faire mit der ‚Grandmaster Chime‘ aus dem Jahr 2014 mit seinen fünf Schlagwerkfunktionen unter Beweis gestellt.

Alarm Travel Time Ref. 5520P-001

Dieses Jahr erweitert die Manufaktur ihr Fliegeruhrenmodell ‚Calatrava Pilot Travel Time‘ mit einer Alarmfunktion, die auf dem Prinzip der Minutenrepetition basiert. Dafür wurde ein komplett neues Uhrwerk konzipiert, das hoch-komplexe Kaliber AL 30-660 SC FUS aus 574 Einzelteile. Die typische zwei Zeitzonen-Anzeige bleibt wie gewohnt erhalten und wird über zwei übereinanderliegende Stundenzeiger aus der Mitte heraus angezeigt. Zwei kleine runde Fenster bei 3 und bei 9 Uhr zeigen die Tag / Nacht Anzeige. Um das Werk dennoch auf eine Höhe von gerade einmal 6,6 mm zu bringen, haben die Ingenieure statt eines aufgesetzten Zusatzmoduls ein eigens integriertes Werk konstruiert. Durch einen ausgeklügelt konzipierten Zeitzonenmechanismus wird beim Bedienen der Drücker die Ganggenauigkeit nicht beeinträchtigt. Die Alarmzeit wird in Form einer digitalen Anzeige gezeigt. Dafür musste der Firmenschriftzug weichen und befindet sich jetzt innerhalb des Hilfszifferblatt für die Datumsanzeige. Das Alarmsignal erklingt durch einen Hammer, der auf eine traditionelle Tonfeder schlägt – und das Spektakel lässt sich gleichzeitig durch den Sichtboden verfolgen. Für Thierry Stern ist das also nicht nur Musik für die Ohren, sondern auch ein Genuss für’s Auge. Preis: 204.050 Euro mit einem Gehäuse aus Platin.

Chronograph Ref. 5172G-001 in Weißgold

In den kommenden Tagen wird voraussichtlich der Preis der Referenz 5170 in die Höhe schnellen. Denn Patek Philippe wird den beliebten Chronographen nicht weiterführen und ihn stattdessen mit der neuen 5172G ersetzen. Dieser hat zwar dasselbe Werk, wurde aber optisch modifiziert. Und hierbei klammert man sich scheinbar an alten Werten, greift aber gleichzeitig nach sportlich-modernen Designelementen. Das Gehäuse – erstmals in Weißgold – bekommt durch den Saphirglasdeckel im Box-Design mit seinen dreistufigen Bandanstößen einen subtilen Vintage-Charakter. Die herausstehenden, runden Drücker erinnern dagegen stark an die derben sportlichen Chronographen, wurden aber klassisch guillochiert. Das marineblaue Zifferblatt und das passende blaue Kalbslederband wirken frisch. Die Spitzzeiger sorgen dagegen für einen etwas altmodischen Kontrast. Im Inneren tickt das bewährte Schaltrad-Chronographen Kaliber CH29-535 PS, Handaufzug mit kleiner Sekunde und einer Unruh aus Gyromax. Preis: 66.320 Euro und damit etwas günstiger als das Vorgängermodell.

Nautilus Ref. 5726/1A-014 in Edelstahl

Die Uhr, die laut eines Werbeslogans‚ ebenso gut zum Taucheranzug wie zum Dinner-Jacket‘ passt, bekommt ihre Originalfarbe aus dem Jahr 1976 zurück. Zumindest die Referenz 5726/1A mit Jahreskalender und Mondphase. Die Rede ist von der Nautilus in Edelstahl, mit ihrem unverwechselbaren blauen Zifferblatt, das von der Mitte heraus nach außen einen schwarzen Farbverlauf annimmt. 

Genauso schön anzusehen ist die horizontale Reliefprägung auf dem Zifferblatt. Das Datumsfenster wurde bei 6 Uhr zusätzlich zur Mondphasenanzeige positioniert, statt bei 3 Uhr. Für Patek Philippe hat das ästhetische Gründe und zeigt in dieser Anordnung die ideale Symmetrie (zu sehen auch beim Jahreskalender Ref. 5396G). Das Kaliber 324 S QA LU 24H/303 basiert auf dem Werk des Vorgängermodells 5711/1A und wurde durch einen Jahreskalender und eine Mondphase erweitert. Der Rotor ist aus 21 Karat Gold, und seitdem Patek Philippe sich dazu entschieden hat den Gehäuseboden zu öffnen, bekommt man einen wunderschönen Blick auf das fein finissierte Werk mit Patek Philippe Siegel. Die neue Nautilus 5726/1A-014 ist mit 40,5 mm Gehäuse minimal größer als das Vorgängermodell – passend dazu wurde auch die Bandgröße entsprechend angepasst. Preis: 41.320 Euro.

Calatrava Wochenkalender Ref. 5212A-001 in Edelstahl

Patek Philippe, auch bekannt für seine Kalenderanzeigen aller Art stellt dieses Jahr mit der neuen Referenz 5212A-001 einen recht nützlichen Wochenkalender aus der Calatrava Linie vor. Fünf Zeiger aus der Mitte heraus sorgen für die verschiedenen Anzeigen – Sekunde, Minute, Stunde, Wochentag und Monat. Der Zeiger für die Monatsanzeige zeigt gleichzeitig sogar noch die Kalenderwoche an, abzulesen durch eine sonderbare Typographie auf dem Zifferblatt. Auf der Skala sind sogar 53 Kalenderwochen berücksichtigt, wie sie alle 5 bis 6 Jahre vorkommen. Das Datum befindet sich bei 3 Uhr. Um den Wochentag und die Ziffer der Kalenderwoche anzuzeigen, hat die Manufaktur einen völlig neuen teilintegrierten Mechanismus entwickelt, eingebettet in massiven Edelstahl. Es ist das erste nicht limitierte Stahlmodell von Patek Philippe, und das erste Calatrava Stahlmodell überhaupt. Das neue Automatikwerk 26-330 SCJ SE basiert auf dem Kaliber 324 und wurde stark optimiert. Preis: 30.100 Euro.

Regulator Annual Calendar Ref. 5235/50R-001

Noch einmal zurück zu Thierry Stern. Als ihm die Idee für den ersten Regulator überhaupt von Patek Philippe kam, hatte er eine moderne Interpretation eines klassischen Regulators im Sinn. Doch so wollte die Uhr keiner in seinem Team haben. Er kämpfte darum und 2011 entstand schließlich die Referenz 5235 Annual Calendar Regulator, die erste Version der Maison. Damals noch in Weißgold mit silber-grauem Zifferblatt, präsentiert Thierry Stern dieses Jahr für Patek Philippe eine Roségold Version Ref. 5235/50R mit einem ‚two-tone’ Zifferblatt in Graphit-Schwarz. Das Zifferblatt hat nach wie vor eine wunderschöne vertikale Satinierung. Das Kaliber 31-260 REG QA mit automatischem Aufzug wurde speziell für das neue Modell konzipiert und mit Pulsomat-Hemmung und Spiromax-Spiral aus Silinvar ausgestattet – ein ziemlich moderner Regulator also. Preis: 46.630 Euro.

Aquanaut Ref. 5168G-010 in Khaki

An Land und zu Wasser. Nachdem Patek Philippe im Jahr 2017 eine auffallend blaue Version der Aquanaut 5168G anlässlich ihres 20. Geburtstags präsentiert hat, gesellt sich nun eine khaki-grüne Version für den stilsicheren Landgang dazu. Zum Jubiläum wurde nicht gegeizt und ein Gehäuse in Weißgold gewählt. Daran hat sich auch beim neuen Geschwister-Modell Ref. 5168G-010 nichts geändert. Anders als bei der sehr ähnlichen Aquanaut Referenz 5167 ist die 5168G (G steht für Weißgold) in Blau und Khaki eine ‚Jumbo’ und misst 42.2 mm Gehäuseumfang und eine angenehm zu tragende Höhe von 8,25 mm. Das mechanische Werk mit automatischem Aufzug ist immer noch das Kaliber 324 SC. Preis: 35.710 Euro.

Galerie